04 Outlet Covers, Cords & Blinds Best picks
Best sliding outlet covers: the self-closing plate that replaces inserts for good
Unscrew the wall plate, screw on this one. From then on the outlet covers itself every time a plug comes out, and there is nothing on the floor for a baby to find.
- By
- Mike M.
- Updated
- Method
- How we choose

We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides the ranking: the method is published. Affiliate disclosure
Quick picks
The short answer
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | ![]() Mommy's Helper Safe Plate Self-Closing Outlet Cover (Standard) The original self-closing plate for standard sockets, in pack sizes from one to 25. | Best sliding cover | 7.6 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 02 | ![]() Safety Innovations Self-Closing Outlet Covers (12 pack, center screw) A floor's worth at once; center-screw duplex outlets only. | Best 12-pack | 7.4 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 03 | ![]() Safety Innovations Self-Closing Decora Outlet Covers (6 pack, 2 screw) The two-screw rectangular version; the only one here that fits a Decora face. | Best for Decora outlets | 7.4 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, compiled from published standards statements, manuals and specs against this page's job, not lab tests. Photos are stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.
How a sliding cover works
A sliding cover is a wall plate with a spring-loaded shutter over each socket. To plug something in, you press the plug against the shutter and slide it sideways until the slots line up; the plug holds the shutter open. Pull the plug and the shutter snaps back over the slots. The adult never has to do anything, which is the point: a plug insert protects the outlet only while an adult remembers to put it back, and a removed insert is a small hard object. A sliding plate has no removable part. It does what a tamper- resistant receptacle does from the outside, for outlets that were installed before the 2008 NEC required shutters inside; whether you need either is the subject of are outlet covers necessary.
Duplex or Decora: the only question
Standard duplex outlets have two round-faced sockets and one screw in the middle of the plate. Decora (also called decorator or rocker-style) outlets have a rectangular face and two plate screws, top and bottom. A sliding cover is a plate, so it has to match: Mommy's Helper's Safe Plate and Safety Innovations' 12-pack are one-screw duplex covers, and Safety Innovations sells a separate two-screw Decora cover. Count each type before ordering; a house often mixes them, with Decora in the kitchen and bathrooms and duplex elsewhere. GFCI outlets (the ones with test and reset buttons) are Decora-shaped and need the Decora version too.
How we ranked these
Bulk weighting. All three do the same thing with the same mechanism and none states a UL listing on the listings we could read, so the ranking is about pack size, fit and price; Mommy's Helper edges ahead on the range of pack sizes and its fit for grounded three-prong plugs, which the listing calls out. Rubric on how we choose. Against inserts, the argument is made in plug inserts vs sliding outlet covers; against everything else, in best outlet covers for babyproofing.
In detail
Every pick, in full
01
Stock photoBest sliding cover
Mommy's Helper Safe Plate Self-Closing Outlet Cover (Standard)
Prevents
The original self-closing plate for standard sockets, in pack sizes from one to 25.
- Standards status
- No UL listing stated in the retailer listing consulted
- Installation truth
- Same one-screw swap as any plate. Buy the count you need; the listing sizes range from single to 25-pack and the per-cover price drops fast.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (20%)
- 4
- Installation truth (15%)
- 8
- Toddler resistance (25%)
- 9
- Adult one-hand use (15%)
- 9
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 8
- Value (20%)
- 8
What it gets right
- Automatic
- Fits grounded three-prong plugs
- Multi-pack sizes
What it doesn't
- Standard duplex only
- UL not stated
- Screwdriver install
Skip it if…
…your outlets are Decora or GFCI; the plate will not fit.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Mommy's Helper Safe Plate Self-Closing Outlet Cover (Standard)
02
Stock photoBest 12-pack
Safety Innovations Self-Closing Outlet Covers (12 pack, center screw)
Prevents
A floor's worth at once; center-screw duplex outlets only.
- Standards status
- No UL listing stated in the retailer listing consulted
- Installation truth
- This version is for standard duplex outlets with a center screw only. Decora (rectangular) outlets need the two-screw model, and the plate is a different shape; count your outlet types before ordering twelve.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (20%)
- 4
- Installation truth (15%)
- 8
- Toddler resistance (25%)
- 9
- Adult one-hand use (15%)
- 9
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 8
- Value (20%)
- 7
What it gets right
- No loose parts
- Self-closing without adult action
- Twelve covers one floor of a house
What it doesn't
- Only standard duplex, center screw
- Screwdriver needed for each outlet
- UL listing not stated
Skip it if…
…your outlets are Decora style; buy the two-screw version instead.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Safety Innovations Self-Closing Outlet Covers (12 pack, center screw)
03
Stock photoBest for Decora outlets
Safety Innovations Self-Closing Decora Outlet Covers (6 pack, 2 screw)
Prevents
The two-screw rectangular version; the only one here that fits a Decora face.
- Standards status
- No UL listing stated in the retailer listing consulted
- Installation truth
- Two screws, for Decora-style rectangular receptacles only. Standard round-face duplex outlets need the one-screw version; check before you buy six.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (20%)
- 4
- Installation truth (15%)
- 8
- Toddler resistance (25%)
- 9
- Adult one-hand use (15%)
- 9
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 8
- Value (20%)
- 7
What it gets right
- Self-closing on Decora outlets
- No loose parts
- Six per pack
What it doesn't
- Decora only
- UL not stated
- Smaller pack than the duplex version
Skip it if…
…your outlets are standard duplex; buy the one-screw version.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Safety Innovations Self-Closing Decora Outlet Covers (6 pack, 2 screw)
Installing one
Unscrew the existing plate. Hold the sliding plate over the outlet with the shutters closed and the screw hole aligned, and drive the screw snug, not tight; over-tightening bows the plate and jams the shutters. Test by plugging a lamp in and pulling it out; the shutter should snap closed. If it sticks, back the screw off a quarter turn. The breaker can stay on for a plate swap; it cannot for a receptacle swap, which is the other route in tamper-resistant outlets vs outlet covers.
Who should skip all of these
How we chose
Units we claim to have tested: 0
Everyone in this category says they tested it. We didn't, and we say so. Every pick is scored from the brand's published specs, width and size charts, warranty terms and cited research, against the problem this page is about. The sources are listed at the bottom of the page.
Scores are editorial judgments from that published data, not lab results. Nobody pays for placement, and a missing spec is scored neutral, never guessed. The full rubric is on How We Choose.
- Standards & certification
- 20%
- Installation truth
- 15%
- Toddler resistance
- 25%
- Adult one-hand use
- 15%
- Damage & reversibility
- 5%
- Value
- 20%
The weights this page used for its scores.
FAQ
Questions people ask
Are sliding outlet covers safe?
Do sliding outlet covers work with three-prong plugs?
Sliding outlet cover vs tamper-resistant outlet?
Keep going
Related guides and picks
Update log
What changed
- First published.
Receipts
Sources
- 01ESFI: Tamper Resistant Receptacles (TRRs) program page, NEC 406.12 (accessed Sep 21, 2026)
- 02CPSC publication: Childproofing Your Home, 12 Safety Devices to Protect Your Children (accessed Sep 21, 2026)
We don't lab-test gates, locks or anchors, and we don't pretend to. Specs, standards statements and install requirements come from the manufacturer's own pages and manuals (or a named retailer's listing where the brand doesn't publish them); injury data and standards come from the CPSC, ASTM, NEC via ESFI and the AAP, linked above. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.