04 Outlet Covers, Cords & Blinds Best picks
Best outlet covers for babyproofing: the outlet that needs none, and the covers for the rest
The top pick is not a cover. It is the tamper-resistant outlet the code has required since 2008, and it is cheaper than most of the covers below it. The covers are for the outlets you can't rewire.
- By
- Mike M.
- Updated
- Method
- How we choose

We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides the ranking: the method is published. Affiliate disclosure
Quick picks
The short answer
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | ![]() Leviton T5325 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Duplex Receptacle Not a cover: the UL-listed outlet with shutters inside. Nothing to remove, nothing to defeat, and the code's own answer. | Best outlet protection | 8.7 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 02 | ![]() Mommy's Helper Safe Plate Self-Closing Outlet Cover (Standard) One screw replaces the plate; the shutter springs shut the moment a plug comes out. | Best self-closing plate | 7.6 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 03 | ![]() Safety Innovations Self-Closing Outlet Covers (12 pack, center screw) Twelve for a floor of the house; center-screw duplex outlets only. | Best self-closing 12-pack | 7.4 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 04 | ![]() Wappa Baby Outlet Cover Box (2 pack) Double-locked lid over the plugs, room for adapters, every part in the box. | Best in-use box | 7.0 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 05 | ![]() Jool Baby Electrical Outlet Plug Covers (32 pack) Nearly invisible; count them when you install them. | Best clear inserts | 7.0 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 06 | ![]() Safety 1st Plug Protectors (36 pack) Thirty-six inserts for six dollars; easy for adults to remove, which cuts both ways. | Cheapest coverage | 6.9 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 07 | ![]() Safety 1st OutSmart Outlet Shield (2 pack) A paintable panel that hides the whole outlet; nothing to pry. | Best for outlets you never use | 6.6 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, compiled from published standards statements, manuals and specs against this page's job, not lab tests. Photos are stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.
Check for TR first
The NEC has required tamper-resistant receptacles in new homes since its 2008 edition (section 406.12), and ESFI reports 46 states had adopted the requirement. A TR outlet has spring shutters behind the slots that only open when both prongs of a plug enter together; it is marked TR on the face. If your outlets have it, the plug-insert aisle is not for you, and the only outlet products left to consider are in-use boxes and cord management. The full check is in are outlet covers necessary.
Four types of cover
Self-closing plates replace the wall plate with one that has sliding shutters: plug in by sliding the shutter aside, and it springs back when the plug comes out. No loose parts, no adult action. In-use boxes screw over the outlet and close a lockable lid around plugs that stay in, for lamps, chargers and the TV. Plug inserts push into unused slots; cheapest, and a removed insert is a small hard object. Shields cover an outlet completely and can be painted; for the outlet behind the crib nobody uses. And the fifth option, which is not a cover at all: replacing the receptacle with a TR one, which is what the code does and what the ranking puts first. The insert-versus- plate decision in detail is plug inserts vs sliding outlet covers.
How we ranked these
Bulk weighting (standards 20, install truth 15, resistance 25, usability 15, reversibility 5, value 20), because you buy outlet protection by the dozen and a toddler works on it alone. The Leviton receptacle is the only product here with a UL listing stated, and it has no removable parts, so it wins resistance and standards outright and loses only on install (wiring) and reversibility. The self-closing plates score on resistance and usability; inserts score on price and lose on resistance. Rubric on how we choose; the sliding plates on their own are in best sliding outlet covers.
In detail
Every pick, in full
01
Stock photoBest outlet protection
Leviton T5325 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Duplex Receptacle
Prevents
Not a cover: the UL-listed outlet with shutters inside. Nothing to remove, nothing to defeat, and the code's own answer.
- Standards status
- UL 498 listed (File E13399), CSA C22.2 No. 42, NEMA WD-6; TR symbol on the strap per NEC 406.12, as stated by Leviton
- Installation truth
- It is a receptacle, so installing it means turning off the breaker and wiring it in. That is a fifteen-minute job for anyone comfortable with a screwdriver and a voltage tester, and an electrician's job for anyone who is not. Nothing to remove, nothing to swallow, nothing a toddler can defeat.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (20%)
- 10
- Installation truth (15%)
- 6
- Toddler resistance (25%)
- 10
- Adult one-hand use (15%)
- 10
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 3
- Value (20%)
- 8
What it gets right
- The only shock protection here that is built into the wall
- UL listed and code-required for new construction
- No adult friction: plug in and out as normal
- Cheaper than a box of covers per outlet
What it doesn't
- Requires wiring, or an electrician
- Does not cover a cord or a plug in use
- One per outlet; a whole house is a weekend
Skip it if…
…your outlets already carry the TR mark; then you have this, and the question becomes cords and in-use plugs.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Leviton T5325 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Duplex Receptacle
02
Stock photoBest self-closing plate
Mommy's Helper Safe Plate Self-Closing Outlet Cover (Standard)
Prevents
One screw replaces the plate; the shutter springs shut the moment a plug comes out.
- Standards status
- No UL listing stated in the retailer listing consulted
- Installation truth
- Same one-screw swap as any plate. Buy the count you need; the listing sizes range from single to 25-pack and the per-cover price drops fast.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (20%)
- 4
- Installation truth (15%)
- 8
- Toddler resistance (25%)
- 9
- Adult one-hand use (15%)
- 9
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 8
- Value (20%)
- 8
What it gets right
- Automatic
- Fits grounded three-prong plugs
- Multi-pack sizes
What it doesn't
- Standard duplex only
- UL not stated
- Screwdriver install
Skip it if…
…your outlets are Decora or GFCI; the plate will not fit.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Mommy's Helper Safe Plate Self-Closing Outlet Cover (Standard)
03
Stock photoBest self-closing 12-pack
Safety Innovations Self-Closing Outlet Covers (12 pack, center screw)
Prevents
Twelve for a floor of the house; center-screw duplex outlets only.
- Standards status
- No UL listing stated in the retailer listing consulted
- Installation truth
- This version is for standard duplex outlets with a center screw only. Decora (rectangular) outlets need the two-screw model, and the plate is a different shape; count your outlet types before ordering twelve.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (20%)
- 4
- Installation truth (15%)
- 8
- Toddler resistance (25%)
- 9
- Adult one-hand use (15%)
- 9
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 8
- Value (20%)
- 7
What it gets right
- No loose parts
- Self-closing without adult action
- Twelve covers one floor of a house
What it doesn't
- Only standard duplex, center screw
- Screwdriver needed for each outlet
- UL listing not stated
Skip it if…
…your outlets are Decora style; buy the two-screw version instead.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Safety Innovations Self-Closing Outlet Covers (12 pack, center screw)
04
Stock photoBest in-use box
Wappa Baby Outlet Cover Box (2 pack)
Prevents
Double-locked lid over the plugs, room for adapters, every part in the box.
- Standards status
- No standard stated on the Wappa Baby product page
- Installation truth
- Three steps: shut off the breaker, remove the old plate, screw on the box's plate. It is a real electrical install; if you would not change a cover plate, get someone who would.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (20%)
- 3
- Installation truth (15%)
- 7
- Toddler resistance (25%)
- 9
- Adult one-hand use (15%)
- 8
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 6
- Value (20%)
- 8
What it gets right
- Room for wall-wart adapters
- Double lock
- Everything in the box
- Two per pack
What it doesn't
- Sticks out from the wall
- Breaker-off install
- White only
Skip it if…
…the outlet is behind furniture; a box needs clearance to open.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Wappa Baby Outlet Cover Box (2 pack)
05
Stock photoBest clear inserts
Jool Baby Electrical Outlet Plug Covers (32 pack)
Prevents
Nearly invisible; count them when you install them.
- Standards status
- No standard stated on the Jool Baby product page
- Installation truth
- Clear means you will not see a missing one from across the room. Count them when you install them and count again when you vacuum.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (20%)
- 3
- Installation truth (15%)
- 9
- Toddler resistance (25%)
- 6
- Adult one-hand use (15%)
- 8
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 10
- Value (20%)
- 9
What it gets right
- Nearly invisible
- 32 per pack
What it doesn't
- Hard to spot when missing
- Removable insert
- No standards statement
Skip it if…
…you want to see at a glance which outlets are covered.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Jool Baby Electrical Outlet Plug Covers (32 pack)
06
Stock photoCheapest coverage
Safety 1st Plug Protectors (36 pack)
Prevents
Thirty-six inserts for six dollars; easy for adults to remove, which cuts both ways.
- Standards status
- No standard stated on the Safety 1st product page
- Installation truth
- Easy for adults to remove is the spec, and a removed insert is a small hard object on the floor. Use inserts on outlets nobody unplugs; use a sliding plate anywhere a plug comes and goes.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (20%)
- 3
- Installation truth (15%)
- 9
- Toddler resistance (25%)
- 5
- Adult one-hand use (15%)
- 8
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 10
- Value (20%)
- 10
What it gets right
- 36 for six dollars
- No tools
- Reusable
What it doesn't
- Removable inserts can be a choking hazard once out
- A toddler learns to pry them
- Opaque white on every outlet
Skip it if…
…your child is already pulling things off walls; go to a sliding plate.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Safety 1st Plug Protectors (36 pack)
07
Stock photoBest for outlets you never use
Safety 1st OutSmart Outlet Shield (2 pack)
Prevents
A paintable panel that hides the whole outlet; nothing to pry.
- Standards status
- No standard stated on the Safety 1st product page
- Installation truth
- It fits over the existing outlet and hides it; it is not an in-use cover and it means that outlet is out of service until you take the shield off.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (20%)
- 3
- Installation truth (15%)
- 8
- Toddler resistance (25%)
- 9
- Adult one-hand use (15%)
- 5
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 8
- Value (20%)
- 7
What it gets right
- Nothing to remove
- Paintable
- Out of sight, out of mind for the toddler
What it doesn't
- Outlet is unusable while fitted
- Two per pack
Skip it if…
…you use the outlet at all.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Safety 1st OutSmart Outlet Shield (2 pack)
Which cover goes on which outlet
Outlets with nothing plugged in, in a room the child uses: self-closing plate, or an insert if you have TR outlets and just want a visual. Outlets with a lamp or charger permanently plugged in: an in-use box, ranked in best outlet covers for plugs in use. Outlets behind furniture that nobody reaches: nothing, or a shield. Kitchen counter outlets: in- use box, because something is always plugged in. Power strips on the floor: a strip cover, in how to babyproof cords.
Who should skip all of these
How we chose
Units we claim to have tested: 0
Everyone in this category says they tested it. We didn't, and we say so. Every pick is scored from the brand's published specs, width and size charts, warranty terms and cited research, against the problem this page is about. The sources are listed at the bottom of the page.
Scores are editorial judgments from that published data, not lab results. Nobody pays for placement, and a missing spec is scored neutral, never guessed. The full rubric is on How We Choose.
- Standards & certification
- 20%
- Installation truth
- 15%
- Toddler resistance
- 25%
- Adult one-hand use
- 15%
- Damage & reversibility
- 5%
- Value
- 20%
The weights this page used for its scores.
FAQ
Questions people ask
What is the safest type of outlet cover?
Are sliding outlet covers safe?
How many outlet covers do I need?
Keep going
Related guides and picks
- Are outlet covers necessary?The TR check that may make this page moot.
- Best sliding outlet coversThe self-closing plates ranked.
- Best outlet covers for plugs in useBoxes for the outlets that are never empty.
- Tamper-resistant outlets vs outlet coversWhy the receptacle ranks above every cover.
- The babyproofing checklistOutlets are one row in every room.
Update log
What changed
- First published.
Receipts
Sources
- 01ESFI: Tamper Resistant Receptacles (TRRs) program page, NEC 406.12 (accessed Sep 21, 2026)
- 02ESFI: TRR code requirements, revisions from the NEC 2008 and 2011 (accessed Sep 21, 2026)
- 03CPSC publication: Childproofing Your Home, 12 Safety Devices to Protect Your Children (accessed Sep 21, 2026)
We don't lab-test gates, locks or anchors, and we don't pretend to. Specs, standards statements and install requirements come from the manufacturer's own pages and manuals (or a named retailer's listing where the brand doesn't publish them); injury data and standards come from the CPSC, ASTM, NEC via ESFI and the AAP, linked above. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.