01 Baby Gates & Stair Safety Best picks
Best pressure-mounted baby gates for doorways: no drilling, no holes, and one rule about where they go
Doorway gates for the kitchen, the hallway and the office, ranked for high traffic: one-hand latches, auto-close, and the manufacturers that are honest about stairs.
- By
- Mike M.
- Updated
- Method
- How we choose

We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides the ranking: the method is published. Affiliate disclosure
Quick picks
The short answer
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | ![]() Regalo Easy Step Safety Gate (Model 1160) Certified, extension included, wall cups included, six-month warranty, and the cheapest certified gate here. | Best pressure gate | 8.1 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 02 | ![]() Regalo Easy Step Extra Wide Safety Gate (Model 1164) Two extensions in the box; screw the cups in at this width. | Best for 40 to 49 inches | 7.9 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 03 | ![]() Babelio PressGuard C5 Pressure Mounted Gate Closes itself, holds open at 90 degrees, 36-inch tall option; Babelio's own page sends stair buyers to a hardware gate. | Best auto-close | 6.9 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 04 | ![]() Munchkin Easy Close Pressure Mounted Gate A firm push locks it. Extensions to 54 inches. | Best push-to-close | 6.7 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 05 | ![]() Cumbor 30-46 in Auto Close Baby Gate 30 to 46 inches with extensions in the box and hardware pieces for when you want them. | Best value auto-close | 6.5 / 10 | Check price on Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, compiled from published standards statements, manuals and specs against this page's job, not lab tests. Photos are stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.
Where a pressure gate goes, and where it doesn't
A pressure gate is for a doorway between two rooms, a hallway, or the bottom of the stairs. Its whole appeal is that it comes out clean, which makes it the right gate for renters, for grandparents' houses, and for the room you will stop gating in eighteen months. It is not for the top of the stairs. The manufacturer of our top pick says so on the product page (“never use at top of stairs”), and the federal gate standard's warning label spells out why: without wall cups, a child can push the gate out. The hardware gates for stairs are ranked in best baby gates for stairs.
The wall-cup rule
Every pressure gate here ships with wall cups: small plastic dishes that screw to the wall and give the gate's pressure pads something to sit in. When the CPSC updated the gate rule to ASTM F1004-22, the change it explained in the Federal Register was moving this warning onto its own label: “You MUST install wall cups to keep the gate in place. Without wall cups, child can push out and escape.” Most people never install them, because the box says no tools. The cups are two screws per side and ten minutes, and they are the difference between a gate that holds against a leaning toddler and one that walks down the wall a millimeter a day until it falls over. If you truly cannot put four small screws in the wall, use the cups with removable adhesive strips and check the gate's tension weekly.
How we ranked these
This page uses the high-traffic weighting: standards 25 percent, installation truth 20, toddler resistance 15, one-hand use 20, reversibility 5 and value 15. A doorway gate gets opened dozens of times a day, so the latch matters more here than on any other page, and reversibility barely counts because every gate here is reversible by design. Regalo leads because it is certified and cheap; Babelio and Cumbor score on the latch and lose on certification, which neither states. The full rubric is on how we choose.
If your doorway is over 49 inches, none of these is the answer; go to best extra-wide baby gates. If you are gating a room to keep a crawler in rather than out, a play yard may be simpler: see baby gate vs play yard.
In detail
Every pick, in full
01
Stock photoBest pressure gate
Regalo Easy Step Safety Gate (Model 1160)
Prevents
Certified, extension included, wall cups included, six-month warranty, and the cheapest certified gate here.
- Standards status
- Baby Safety Alliance certified; meets ASTM safety standards, as stated by Regalo
- Installation truth
- Regalo's own page says never use at the top of stairs. The wall cups are meant to be screwed to the wall; pressure alone on a painted drywall corner will creep, and the cups are what stop it.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (25%)
- 9
- Installation truth (20%)
- 7
- Toddler resistance (15%)
- 7
- Adult one-hand use (20%)
- 8
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 9
What it gets right
- Certification stated by the manufacturer
- Extension in the box; takes up to three
- One-touch release lever
- Wall cups included
What it doesn't
- Bottom bar across the doorway is a trip hazard for adults
- 30 in tall, not extra-tall
- Six-month warranty
Skip it if…
…you are trying to gate the top of a staircase; Regalo says no, and so do we.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Regalo Easy Step Safety Gate (Model 1160)
02
Stock photoBest for 40 to 49 inches
Regalo Easy Step Extra Wide Safety Gate (Model 1164)
Prevents
Two extensions in the box; screw the cups in at this width.
- Standards status
- Baby Safety Alliance certified; meets ASTM safety standards, as stated by Regalo
- Installation truth
- Every extension adds a joint the wall cups have to hold rigid. At 49 in, screw the cups to the wall; this is not a hand-tightened install any more.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (25%)
- 9
- Installation truth (20%)
- 7
- Toddler resistance (15%)
- 7
- Adult one-hand use (20%)
- 7
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 9
What it gets right
- Two extensions in the box
- Certified
- Same one-touch lever as the standard Easy Step
- Under $60 for 49 in of coverage
What it doesn't
- Bottom bar
- Not for the top of stairs
- A 16 in door in a 49 in gate means walking to one end to pass
Skip it if…
…the opening is over 49 in; at that point a multi-panel gate is the honest answer.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Regalo Easy Step Extra Wide Safety Gate (Model 1164)
03
Stock photoBest auto-close
Babelio PressGuard C5 Pressure Mounted Gate
Prevents
Closes itself, holds open at 90 degrees, 36-inch tall option; Babelio's own page sends stair buyers to a hardware gate.
- Standards status
- No ASTM/JPMA certification stated; Babelio cites a Consumer Reports recommendation instead
- Installation truth
- Babelio's own guidance: hardware-mounted gates are recommended for the top of stairs, and if the C5 is used on stairs at all it needs the included wall cups. That is the honest limit of a pressure gate.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (25%)
- 4
- Installation truth (20%)
- 7
- Toddler resistance (15%)
- 8
- Adult one-hand use (20%)
- 9
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 7
What it gets right
- Goes down to 26 in
- 36 in version for climbers
- Auto-close with hold-open
- Manufacturer is honest about stair limits
What it doesn't
- Tops out under 40 in
- No ASTM/JPMA statement
- Pricier than Regalo for a pressure gate
Skip it if…
…the opening is over 40 in or you need a top-of-stairs gate.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Babelio PressGuard C5 Pressure Mounted Gate
04
Stock photoBest push-to-close
Munchkin Easy Close Pressure Mounted Gate
Prevents
A firm push locks it. Extensions to 54 inches.
- Standards status
- No certification statement in the retailer listing consulted
- Installation truth
- The instruction sheet's rule is that the gate must not be used at the top or bottom of stairs without all four wall cups fitted, which means screws into the wall. Pressure-only is a doorway-only install.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (25%)
- 5
- Installation truth (20%)
- 6
- Toddler resistance (15%)
- 7
- Adult one-hand use (20%)
- 8
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 7
- Value (15%)
- 8
What it gets right
- Push-to-close latch means fewer 'who left the gate open' moments
- Extensions to 54 in
- Metal frame at a pressure-gate price
What it doesn't
- 29.5 in is short
- Certification not stated on the listing we checked
- Bottom bar
Skip it if…
…you want it at any staircase and are not going to screw all four wall cups in.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Munchkin Easy Close Pressure Mounted Gate
05
Stock photoBest value auto-close
Cumbor 30-46 in Auto Close Baby Gate
Prevents
30 to 46 inches with extensions in the box and hardware pieces for when you want them.
- Standards status
- No ASTM/JPMA statement in the retailer listing title; treat as unstated
- Installation truth
- It lists both pressure and hardware mounting. Use the hardware option anywhere a fall is possible; pressure with three extensions in place is a lot of leverage on four rubber cups.
Published specs (tap for source)
- Standards & certification (25%)
- 3
- Installation truth (20%)
- 6
- Toddler resistance (15%)
- 7
- Adult one-hand use (20%)
- 9
- Damage & reversibility (5%)
- 7
- Value (15%)
- 9
What it gets right
- Auto-close and a 90-degree hold-open
- Extensions in the box to 46 in
- Hardware mount pieces included
- Usually cheaper than the name brands per inch
What it doesn't
- Certification is not stated on the listing
- Specs live in the Amazon title, not on a manufacturer page
- Height not in the listing title
Skip it if…
…you want a manufacturer-published standards statement; there isn't one to point to.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Cumbor 30-46 in Auto Close Baby Gate
The bottom bar
Every pressure gate has a bar across the floor of the opening; it is what carries the spring load between the two sides. Adults trip on it, especially carrying a baby, and it is the second reason these gates do not go at the top of stairs. In a kitchen doorway you will step over it a thousand times. If that bothers you, the answer is a hardware gate with no threshold, which is most of the stair gates, or a retractable, covered in best retractable baby gates.
Who should skip all of these
How we chose
Units we claim to have tested: 0
Everyone in this category says they tested it. We didn't, and we say so. Every pick is scored from the brand's published specs, width and size charts, warranty terms and cited research, against the problem this page is about. The sources are listed at the bottom of the page.
Scores are editorial judgments from that published data, not lab results. Nobody pays for placement, and a missing spec is scored neutral, never guessed. The full rubric is on How We Choose.
- Standards & certification
- 25%
- Installation truth
- 20%
- Toddler resistance
- 15%
- Adult one-hand use
- 20%
- Damage & reversibility
- 5%
- Value
- 15%
The weights this page used for its scores.
FAQ
Questions people ask
Are pressure-mounted gates safe?
Do pressure gates damage walls?
Can I use a pressure gate at the bottom of the stairs?
What is the widest pressure-mounted gate?
Keep going
Related guides and picks
- Pressure-mounted vs hardware-mounted baby gatesThe full comparison of the two mount types.
- Best baby gates for stairsHardware gates only, for the top and bottom of the staircase.
- Best extra-wide baby gatesFor openings past 48 inches.
- Babyproofing an apartment or rentalThe no-drill plan for the whole home, gates included.
Update log
What changed
- First published.
Receipts
Sources
- 01Federal Register, Nov 14, 2022: Safety Standard for Expansion Gates and Expandable Enclosures (ASTM F1004-22, wall-cup warning label) (accessed Sep 21, 2026)
- 02CPSC: Business guidance for gates and enclosures, 16 CFR part 1239 / ASTM F1004 (accessed Sep 21, 2026)
- 03ASTM International: F1004-22 Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Expansion Gates and Expandable Enclosures (accessed Sep 21, 2026)
We don't lab-test gates, locks or anchors, and we don't pretend to. Specs, standards statements and install requirements come from the manufacturer's own pages and manuals (or a named retailer's listing where the brand doesn't publish them); injury data and standards come from the CPSC, ASTM, NEC via ESFI and the AAP, linked above. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.