Skip to content
GateandGuard

01 Baby Gates & Stair Safety Best picks

Best baby gates: one for the doorway, one for the stairs, and the ones to skip

Most homes need two gates, not one: a pressure gate for a doorway and a hardware gate for the stairs. This ranking covers both, scored on the same published rubric.

By
Mike M.
Updated
Method
How we choose
A white baby gate closed across the bottom of a wooden staircase
#ad

We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides the ranking: the method is published. Affiliate disclosure

Quick picks

The short answer

#ProductBest forScorePrice
01
Stock photo: a white pressure-fit gate standing in a doorway
Regalo Easy Step Safety Gate (Model 1160)

Certified by the Baby Safety Alliance, an extension in the box, wall cups included, and a manufacturer page that says never at the top of stairs, which is the honesty we want.

Best overall (doorways)8.0 / 10Check price on Amazon
02
Stock photo: a wide metal gate spanning a kitchen entrance
Regalo Easy Step Extra Wide Safety Gate (Model 1164)

The same certified gate with 4-inch and 12-inch extensions included, to 49 inches.

Best for wide doorways7.9 / 10Check price on Amazon
03
Stock photo: a metal safety gate mounted at the top of a carpeted staircase
Toddleroo by North States Easy Swing & Lock Gate (Series 2)

31 inches tall, nearly 48 inches wide without an extension, swing control, ASTM statement from the maker.

Best hardware gate7.4 / 10Check price on Amazon
04
Stock photo: a metal safety gate mounted at the top of a carpeted staircase
Cardinal Gates SS-30 Stairway Special

Angle mount, optional stop bracket, JPMA certified. Accessories cost extra.

Best for top of stairs7.4 / 10Check price on Amazon
05
Stock photo: a white pressure-fit gate standing in a doorway
Babelio PressGuard C5 Pressure Mounted Gate

26 to 39.6 inches, auto-close, and a 36-inch extra-tall version for climbers.

Best for narrow doorways6.8 / 10Check price on Amazon
06
Stock photo: a white pressure-fit gate standing in a doorway
Munchkin Easy Close Pressure Mounted Gate

Leave it open, push it shut. Extensions to 54 inches; all four wall cups required anywhere near stairs.

Best push-to-close6.6 / 10Check price on Amazon
07
Stock photo: a white pressure-fit gate standing in a doorway
Cumbor 30-46 in Auto Close Baby Gate

Extensions to 46 inches in the box and both mount types; no certification stated on the listing.

Best auto-close on a budget6.3 / 10Check price on Amazon

#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, compiled from published standards statements, manuals and specs against this page's job, not lab tests. Photos are stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Why most homes need two gates

There are two kinds of baby gate and they do different jobs. A pressure-mounted gate wedges into a doorway and comes out without a trace; it is the right gate for the kitchen entrance, the hallway to the bathroom, and the office door. A hardware-mounted gate screws into wood and does not move; it is the only kind that belongs at the top of a staircase, because the federal gate rule's own warning label says a pressure gate without wall cups can be pushed out, and Regalo prints “never use at top of stairs” on the pressure gate we rank first. If you have stairs, you are buying one of each. The stair-specific ranking, with seven hardware gates, is best baby gates for stairs.

What decides which gate

The opening. Measure it at latch height, baseboard to baseboard. Most doorway gates cover 29 to 38 inches with an extension; kitchen entrances and living room openings often run 40 to 60 inches, which is where the extra-wide gates in best extra-wide baby gates come in.

The standard. Every gate sold in the US has to meet ASTM F1004 under 16 CFR 1239, but only some makers state it, and fewer state third-party certification. Regalo, North States and Cardinal all put it on the product page. Cumbor and Munchkin, in the listings we could check, do not. That is 25 percent of the score, and it is why an Amazon-native gate with more features can rank below a plainer certified one.

The install truth. The Munchkin instruction sheet says the gate must not be used at the top or bottom of stairs without all four wall cups. Babelio says use a hardware gate at the top of stairs. Cardinal sells the banister clamps separately. None of that is on the front of the box. It is on the product card.

Traffic. A gate you open fifty times a day needs a one-hand latch and, ideally, auto-close. The Babelio and Cumbor close themselves; the Munchkin closes with a push. The Regalo needs a hand on the lever and a push, which is fine for a doorway you use ten times a day and annoying at the kitchen.

How we ranked these

Default weights: standards 25 percent, installation truth 20, toddler resistance 20, one-hand use 10, reversibility 10, value 15. The two Regalo gates win on certification, honesty and price; the Toddleroo and Cardinal win the hardware category but lose reversibility points they were never going to get, because a hardware gate leaves holes. The full method is on how we choose, and the gate-type decision is argued in pressure-mounted vs hardware-mounted baby gates.

In detail

Every pick, in full

01

Stock photo: a white pressure-fit gate standing in a doorwayStock photo

Best overall (doorways)

Regalo Easy Step Safety Gate (Model 1160)

8.0 / 10

Prevents

Certified by the Baby Safety Alliance, an extension in the box, wall cups included, and a manufacturer page that says never at the top of stairs, which is the honesty we want.

Standards status
Baby Safety Alliance certified; meets ASTM safety standards, as stated by Regalo
Installation truth
Regalo's own page says never use at the top of stairs. The wall cups are meant to be screwed to the wall; pressure alone on a painted drywall corner will creep, and the cups are what stop it.
Standards & certification (25%)
9
Installation truth (20%)
7
Toddler resistance (20%)
7
Adult one-hand use (10%)
8
Damage & reversibility (10%)
8
Value (15%)
9

What it gets right

  • Certification stated by the manufacturer
  • Extension in the box; takes up to three
  • One-touch release lever
  • Wall cups included

What it doesn't

  • Bottom bar across the doorway is a trip hazard for adults
  • 30 in tall, not extra-tall
  • Six-month warranty

Skip it if…

you are trying to gate the top of a staircase; Regalo says no, and so do we.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Regalo Easy Step Safety Gate (Model 1160)

02

Stock photo: a wide metal gate spanning a kitchen entranceStock photo

Best for wide doorways

Regalo Easy Step Extra Wide Safety Gate (Model 1164)

7.9 / 10

Prevents

The same certified gate with 4-inch and 12-inch extensions included, to 49 inches.

Standards status
Baby Safety Alliance certified; meets ASTM safety standards, as stated by Regalo
Installation truth
Every extension adds a joint the wall cups have to hold rigid. At 49 in, screw the cups to the wall; this is not a hand-tightened install any more.
Standards & certification (25%)
9
Installation truth (20%)
7
Toddler resistance (20%)
7
Adult one-hand use (10%)
7
Damage & reversibility (10%)
8
Value (15%)
9

What it gets right

  • Two extensions in the box
  • Certified
  • Same one-touch lever as the standard Easy Step
  • Under $60 for 49 in of coverage

What it doesn't

  • Bottom bar
  • Not for the top of stairs
  • A 16 in door in a 49 in gate means walking to one end to pass

Skip it if…

the opening is over 49 in; at that point a multi-panel gate is the honest answer.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Regalo Easy Step Extra Wide Safety Gate (Model 1164)

03

Stock photo: a metal safety gate mounted at the top of a carpeted staircaseStock photo

Best hardware gate

Toddleroo by North States Easy Swing & Lock Gate (Series 2)

7.4 / 10

Prevents

31 inches tall, nearly 48 inches wide without an extension, swing control, ASTM statement from the maker.

Standards status
Baby Safety Alliance certified and ASTM certified, as stated by North States
Installation truth
Hardware mount only, tools required, and the manual's condition for stair use is that the gate must never swing out over the stairs. Set the swing control on install day, not later.
Standards & certification (25%)
9
Installation truth (20%)
7
Toddler resistance (20%)
8
Adult one-hand use (10%)
7
Damage & reversibility (10%)
4
Value (15%)
7

What it gets right

  • Nearly 48 in of coverage with no extension, so most wide landings fit out of the box
  • 31 in tall, no threshold bar to trip on
  • One-hand thumb-button latch
  • Swing control locks out the over-the-stairs direction

What it doesn't

  • No auto-close: you have to push it shut every time
  • Steel, so it is heavier to swing than the aluminum Cardinal
  • No angle-mount feature for out-of-square openings

Skip it if…

your landing walls are not square to each other; this gate wants parallel mounting surfaces and has no angle bracket.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Toddleroo by North States Easy Swing & Lock Gate (Series 2)

04

Stock photo: a metal safety gate mounted at the top of a carpeted staircaseStock photo

Best for top of stairs

Cardinal Gates SS-30 Stairway Special

7.4 / 10

Prevents

Angle mount, optional stop bracket, JPMA certified. Accessories cost extra.

Standards status
JPMA certified, as stated by Cardinal Gates
Installation truth
Hardware-mount only, and the banister clamps and drywall anchor kit are sold separately. If one side is a newel post you need the clamp kit before you start; if neither side hits a stud you need the anchor kit.
Standards & certification (25%)
9
Installation truth (20%)
7
Toddler resistance (20%)
8
Adult one-hand use (10%)
8
Damage & reversibility (10%)
4
Value (15%)
6

What it gets right

  • Angle mount up to 30 degrees solves the wall-that-isn't-square problem at most stair landings
  • One-way stop bracket keeps the gate from opening over the stairs
  • Aluminum frame is light enough to swing one-handed with a baby on the hip
  • Extensions take the aluminum version to well past 60 in

What it doesn't

  • Banister clamps and drywall anchors are accessories, not in the box
  • 29.5 in is on the short side for a tall two-year-old who climbs
  • Costs more than most pressure gates before you add the accessories

Skip it if…

your opening has no wood or stud to bite into on at least one side and you are not willing to buy the banister clamp or anchor kit; a hardware gate screwed into bare drywall is not a top-of-stairs gate.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Cardinal Gates SS-30 Stairway Special

05

Stock photo: a white pressure-fit gate standing in a doorwayStock photo

Best for narrow doorways

Babelio PressGuard C5 Pressure Mounted Gate

6.8 / 10

Prevents

26 to 39.6 inches, auto-close, and a 36-inch extra-tall version for climbers.

Standards status
No ASTM/JPMA certification stated; Babelio cites a Consumer Reports recommendation instead
Installation truth
Babelio's own guidance: hardware-mounted gates are recommended for the top of stairs, and if the C5 is used on stairs at all it needs the included wall cups. That is the honest limit of a pressure gate.
Standards & certification (25%)
4
Installation truth (20%)
7
Toddler resistance (20%)
8
Adult one-hand use (10%)
9
Damage & reversibility (10%)
8
Value (15%)
7

What it gets right

  • Goes down to 26 in
  • 36 in version for climbers
  • Auto-close with hold-open
  • Manufacturer is honest about stair limits

What it doesn't

  • Tops out under 40 in
  • No ASTM/JPMA statement
  • Pricier than Regalo for a pressure gate

Skip it if…

the opening is over 40 in or you need a top-of-stairs gate.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Babelio PressGuard C5 Pressure Mounted Gate

06

Stock photo: a white pressure-fit gate standing in a doorwayStock photo

Best push-to-close

Munchkin Easy Close Pressure Mounted Gate

6.6 / 10

Prevents

Leave it open, push it shut. Extensions to 54 inches; all four wall cups required anywhere near stairs.

Standards status
No certification statement in the retailer listing consulted
Installation truth
The instruction sheet's rule is that the gate must not be used at the top or bottom of stairs without all four wall cups fitted, which means screws into the wall. Pressure-only is a doorway-only install.
Standards & certification (25%)
5
Installation truth (20%)
6
Toddler resistance (20%)
7
Adult one-hand use (10%)
8
Damage & reversibility (10%)
7
Value (15%)
8

What it gets right

  • Push-to-close latch means fewer 'who left the gate open' moments
  • Extensions to 54 in
  • Metal frame at a pressure-gate price

What it doesn't

  • 29.5 in is short
  • Certification not stated on the listing we checked
  • Bottom bar

Skip it if…

you want it at any staircase and are not going to screw all four wall cups in.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Munchkin Easy Close Pressure Mounted Gate

07

Stock photo: a white pressure-fit gate standing in a doorwayStock photo

Best auto-close on a budget

Cumbor 30-46 in Auto Close Baby Gate

6.3 / 10

Prevents

Extensions to 46 inches in the box and both mount types; no certification stated on the listing.

Standards status
No ASTM/JPMA statement in the retailer listing title; treat as unstated
Installation truth
It lists both pressure and hardware mounting. Use the hardware option anywhere a fall is possible; pressure with three extensions in place is a lot of leverage on four rubber cups.
Standards & certification (25%)
3
Installation truth (20%)
6
Toddler resistance (20%)
7
Adult one-hand use (10%)
9
Damage & reversibility (10%)
7
Value (15%)
9

What it gets right

  • Auto-close and a 90-degree hold-open
  • Extensions in the box to 46 in
  • Hardware mount pieces included
  • Usually cheaper than the name brands per inch

What it doesn't

  • Certification is not stated on the listing
  • Specs live in the Amazon title, not on a manufacturer page
  • Height not in the listing title

Skip it if…

you want a manufacturer-published standards statement; there isn't one to point to.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Cumbor 30-46 in Auto Close Baby Gate

Extensions, and when to stop adding them

Every extension is a joint, and every joint is a place the gate can flex under a leaning toddler. Regalo caps the Easy Step at three extensions; Munchkin sells extensions to 54 inches. Past about 48 inches, stop extending a pressure gate and buy a multi-panel hardware gate instead, which is what the extra-wide ranking is for. And any extended pressure gate should have its wall cups screwed to the wall, not just pressed against it.

Who should skip all of these

How we chose

Units we claim to have tested: 0

Everyone in this category says they tested it. We didn't, and we say so. Every pick is scored from the brand's published specs, width and size charts, warranty terms and cited research, against the problem this page is about. The sources are listed at the bottom of the page.

Scores are editorial judgments from that published data, not lab results. Nobody pays for placement, and a missing spec is scored neutral, never guessed. The full rubric is on How We Choose.

Standards & certification
25%
Installation truth
20%
Toddler resistance
20%
Adult one-hand use
10%
Damage & reversibility
10%
Value
15%

The weights this page used for its scores.

FAQ

Questions people ask

What is the safest type of baby gate?
A hardware-mounted gate screwed into wood, because it cannot be pushed out of the opening. Pressure gates are fine for doorways when the wall cups are used; they are never for the top of stairs.
Do baby gates need to be JPMA certified?
Every gate sold in the US must meet ASTM F1004 under 16 CFR 1239. JPMA (Baby Safety Alliance) certification means a third party tested it to that standard. We rank makers that state it above makers that do not.
What size baby gate do I need?
Measure the opening at the height the latch will sit, baseboard to baseboard, and buy a gate whose range includes that number with its included extension. Do not plan on stacking three extensions.
Do baby gates work for dogs too?
Many are sold as pet gates. A large dog leaning on a pressure gate is a bigger push-out load than a toddler, so use the wall cups, and check the maker's pet weight limit on mesh retractables.

Keep going

Update log

What changed

  • First published.

Receipts

Sources

  1. 01CPSC: Business guidance for gates and enclosures, 16 CFR part 1239 / ASTM F1004 (accessed Sep 21, 2026)
  2. 02Federal Register, Nov 14, 2022: Safety Standard for Expansion Gates and Expandable Enclosures (ASTM F1004-22, wall-cup warning label) (accessed Sep 21, 2026)
  3. 03ASTM International: F1004-22 Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Expansion Gates and Expandable Enclosures (accessed Sep 21, 2026)
  4. 04CPSC publication: Childproofing Your Home, 12 Safety Devices to Protect Your Children (accessed Sep 21, 2026)

We don't lab-test gates, locks or anchors, and we don't pretend to. Specs, standards statements and install requirements come from the manufacturer's own pages and manuals (or a named retailer's listing where the brand doesn't publish them); injury data and standards come from the CPSC, ASTM, NEC via ESFI and the AAP, linked above. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.